Skip to main content
Topic: GTI quad grills  (Read 819 times) previous topic - next topic

GTI quad grills

Hi,

I've got a couple of breakages on my grill and in fact not sure how it is supposed to mount on the far left and right upper corners (is it this part? https://www.classic-vw.co.uk/mk2-golf-grille-securing-clip-165853674-19715-p.asp)

What's the best route of a decent replacement - originals are NLA I see - I am happy to have a reproduction if it is good quality with the red trim around the edge.

Cheers
Matt

Re: GTI quad grills

Reply #1
Yes, that's the clip.

Reply #2
Suppose there's always the chance of finding a NOS one, though I'd imagine you'll pay through the nose for it unless the sellers a complete novice.

Haven't seen any of the current repros. in the flesh and impossible to guess from images as to quality.

Worth bearing in mind the originals aren't that great... fragile design to start with and 80's plastic molding standards combine to make a not very high bar to better.

Found this one - caught my eye as Carello are a well established and respectable Italian light manufacturer, have been OE on many cars for a long time.

Their contempary MK1 Golf grille / twin light offering is very highly sought after (apart from looking different in a good way) the lamps are set a little further forward than Hellas meaning it'll allow aircon to be fitted, Rabbit owners usually go for them.

I'm guessing this MK2 version is period too, though it's the first I've seen.

Seller is in Estonia, probably have to factor in the possibility of customs etc. but he's inviting offers... tempted myself!

eBay

Reply #3
If it is your thing... it's been up for auction since early July. There's 3 x watchers (inc. me) and the buy it now is showing as £99 in Estonia so have to presume eBay's already added the VAT for UK buyers, one less thing to account for. I'd be going in with a sensible, low offer to start with.

Reply #4