Skip to main content
Topic: Monkeys Guide to a Mk2 R32 (Read 9538 times) previous topic - next topic

Monkeys Guide to a Mk2 R32

(thanks to Monkey)

Ok, here we go again!

Disclaimer part 2:
I've been asked a couple times about my recent R32 conversion, how it was done and what's needed etc, so I've decided to put this guide together to give people a reference and a relative idea on how it's done.

This is not the worlds best guide, I'm an amateur that does this in his spare time, but it's mine, I've 100% done myself, so I'm speaking from experience.
As per usual, you follow my advice at your own peril and as with everything in my life, I accept no responsibility for anything, ever... not even a little bit!

Lets cover some basics

Parts List
3.2 Parts:
Engine
ECU
Loom
Throttle Pedal

VR6 Parts:
Subframe
Engine mount brackets
Gearbox
Flywheel
Starter
Clutch
Radiator
Top and Bottom Hoses

Corrado Parts:
Pedalbox,
Clutch Master & Slave Cylinders with associated pipework
Cross member (VR6)

Additional Parts:
Mk4 Shifter Setup
Corrado PAS pipework

Unlike the 20vt conversion, where there are dozens of combinations of engine/gearbox options to go for, the 3.2 only really gives you a couple.

The Donor

Engine possibilities are as follows
Mk4 R32
These are arguably the best engines to use for the conversion, due to fuelling and management/wiring options. However, with the Mk4 R32 only running for a couple of years before being replaced by the Mk5, they are hard to come by and usually expensive.
Mk5 R32/ A3 3.2
Now unlike the Mk4 units, these were made for a very long time and are relatively plentiful. They also have more power out the box to the mk4 ones. However, being direct injection, they present fuelling issues that will have to be overcome when installing in a mk2.
TT 3.2