Skip to main content
Topic: 8v to 16v - which one is easiest..  (Read 1157 times) previous topic - next topic

8v to 16v - which one is easiest..

Hi all,

I know there is a lot of information out there and I've read alot and am still not sure. Since I'm removing the engine, tank etc from my car as part of a resto I thought about putting a 16v in.

I want keep it naturally aspirated and still light so don't fancy a vr6 or 1.8t. Also have a vr6 in another car.

I've read because I am digifant it's not going to be straight forward... im not a wiring expert so which is the easiest to install, i see 3 options

1) 1.8 KR

2) ABF

3) ABF bottom and KR top. I guess this is option 1 if that is the easier route but think this option is more for existing 16v owners.

If I went option 2 are there any plug and play looms I can buy? Also does the abf option do away with the underbody fuel pump?

Cheers

Re: 8v to 16v - which one is easiest..

Reply #1
Partly will depend on if you just have an engine or full donor car.

16v has a different fuel pump, not sure if the 8v pump is up to the same task but a standard mk2 16v fuel pump is going to cost at least £150 these days if you can find one.

That's said changing to a MK3 tank/pump maybe possible/easier.

Reply #2
Digi can be made to work with few issues.

The 16v is a good all round choice and rebuilt KR engine with supporting mods will be a good 150 odd bhp.

buget is the next thing, could go overbore KR like mine with ABF cams but your looking at 2k for that alone.

K-jetronic is easy enough to install but youd need a 16v pump which can be pricy

Reply #3
I'm assuming from the list of your fleet you don't want to go 2.0 8v?

2.0 8V

I've never driven a 16v Golf, however I like the lower down flexibility of my 8v. I can make reasonable progress without having to use the revs. From what I've read a 2.0 8v conversion just improves it.
1991 Tornado Red BB 8v GTI Moredoor
2008 Skoda Octy Scout aka dirty diesel

Reply #4