Skip to main content
Topic: Welding... (Read 9663 times) previous topic - next topic

Welding...

Owning a MK2 welding is probably something quite a few of us will need done at some point, to some degree or other.

I'm genuinely envious of members on here who are doing their own and it's something I've promised myself I'm going to try and learn.

Unfortunately that'll be too long a wait for my own MK2 and I've had to get someone in to do that welding.

Because they're coming to me I'm trying to make things as ready as possible for them (and hopefully keep costs down too, if I do the prep.)

I've spent the last while cutting out the 'frilly' bits and cleaning things back to bare metal, plus fabricating the patches to be welded in.

I'm hoping to finish that today or tomorrow and will stick up some pics then, it's too awkward taking them while I'm working.

I'm likely not doing things the expected way as I've no previous experience of getting this type of work done to a car.

I've been watching what others have done on-line etc. but even so I've a feeling there may be a sudden intake of breath when the welder sees what I've done / want him to do!

Likely a bit late asking now, as I've already done the cutting and am committed to what's been done but in general terms, and for the benefit of others, maybe existing welders can put up a few (very) basic tips? 

Re: Welding...

Reply #1
As you know I have a welder and have been doing some welding lately.

I just thought I'd share my journey.

Back in 2013 I bought the infamous Lunchbreak Project mk2, this was my midlife crisis buy to relive the one I had in my early 20s.

Now if you remember it was a bit of a rot box, however was all original and pretty much untouched (hence rot box) but was mechanically sound and a good runner. Finding one like that now would be an absolute dream.