Skip to main content
Topic: 1989 LHD Special GTI 8v (Read 1714 times) previous topic - next topic

1989 LHD Special GTI 8v

Hello everyone!

On Monkey's recommendation, I thought I'd post some images of my project so far.

Car was bought blind via eBay in about 2014/2015. I had always wanted a LHD car, to me they seem more "natural" - Just seems in my odd head to make more sense driving on that side and with the layout in that manner. I've had quite a few MK2 Golf's over the years - This would be my fifth I think.

I had the car delivered but due to an unexpected medical issue - I was in hospital for a few days before and after the delivery so it was a real shock to meet the car when I eventually got home.

He's a GTI Special but is UK registered (and assigned an F plate) Specials do seem  "uncommon"  and had some nice features from new. I'm not a Special expert, but it's a similar spec to One in a Million.

Tinted glass
Black headlining
Central locking
Power steering
BBS RA's
Rainbow interior
Diming headlining light (also colour coded)

Looks quite presentable in the eBay auction photos - But that hid a lot of sins. All the standard places (arches, battery tray, airbox tray, wings etc...) but also the back panel. This had been slapped on with a good 6mm of filler and repainted. There was no saving that, or the boot. Both utterly rotten.

I'll add some pictures from my phone/PC etc as I can.

Re: 1989 LHD Special GTI 8v

Reply #1

The eBay auction when I bought him. Sadly stripped of many of the valuable parts (Rainbow interior, BBS RA's etc..)

Reply #2
Nice and good buy! I have a helios blue 1988 model like yours but it's not one of the special editions sadly. Mine needs exactly the same panels as yours!

I do get what you're saying about LHD. Whenever I hire a LHD I always think it feels just right at the controls.

Reply #3