Skip to main content
Topic: Newbie here.. 1.6cl auto with 16v abf conversion (Read 1124 times) previous topic - next topic

Newbie here.. 1.6cl auto with 16v abf conversion

Hi All..

Bought my mk2 already converted and running gsxr 750 bike carbs. Ran a little rough but was running and very drivable.

Intention was to slowly get the car running properly, clean the car up, and have an ongoing driveable project.

Got in the car one day and noticed a knocking sound from the engine. Wasn't sure where the knocking was coming from but was going to get under the car and have a good look about. Life got in the way what with buying a new house and put the car on parents secure driveway for after I moved house and was going to have a good look. Up pops COVID and nothing more happened to the car and has now sat for about a year.

I have now got my house all sorted after a complete refurb and next thing on the list is to get the car up and running and back on the road.

I'm possibly looking at reverting the car back to injection and getting rid of the bike carbs. There are loads of bits that were done by the previous owner which were never finished which also need sorting.

Though I would join the forum to possibly get some help/advise on what I should be looking out for or look at changing along the way.

Best,

Charlie

Re: Newbie here.. 1.6cl auto with 16v abf conversion

Reply #1
Managed to look at the car today after charging the battery up.

Had a fuel pump issue at first and have a badly perished fuel line which will need replacing but managed to get the car running.

Still have the loud knocking noise which seems to be coming from the gearbox. When the clutch is depressed, the sound quietens down.

Next step will be to remove the gearbox and have a look. Possibly flywheel?

Need to also change the fuel line for new one. Any recommendations on a decent fuel line?

Reply #2
Hi, ask about fuel lines on the golf chat might get a better response